Fade for Nothing

Five in the morning the moon is high,
set deep into the blue
It tastes cold and sweet and bright
and new.

The stars,
they glitter down on me
but they can’t touch you where you are
They can’t reach you,
do I want to?
Night can only stretch so far.

I don’t like, and when I do
I do until it’s done
But in the night
the light feels like
it was only meant for one.

The sun will rise on a world so blue
it doesn’t even look blue to you
And there’s nothing I can do to make it
reach to where you are
so far and
no light lives forever and
the moon won’t fade for
nothing but I hope you know that
it won’t wait for
You.

You know you want to

